The six books of the Commonwealth were written by Sir Thomas Hobbes in 1651. The work is a detailed explanation of Hobbes’ political philosophy, which he called “social contract theory.” In the work, Hobbes argued that people are naturally self-interested and selfish, and that they need to be governed by an authority in order to maintain order and peace. He also argued that government should be based on a contract between the people and the ruler, and that the ruler should have absolute power in order to keep the peace.

Other related questions:

Who wrote six books of Commonwealth?

There is no one author of the six books of Commonwealth. The six books were written by different authors over the course of several centuries.

What was Jean Bodin’s main point of absolutism?

Jean Bodin’s main point of absolutism was that the sovereign, or the ruler of the state, should have absolute power over the state.

What did Jean Bodin believe?

Jean Bodin believed in the Divine Right of Kings, which stated that kings were chosen by God and were therefore answerable only to Him.

Who is the father of sovereignty?

There is no one “father” of sovereignty, as the concept has been around for thousands of years and has been understood in many different ways. However, some of the most influential thinkers on the subject include Thomas Hobbes, Jean-Jacques Rousseau, and John Austin.


  • Was this Helpful ?
  • YesNo

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *