When Calls the Heart is a Canadian-American television drama series, inspired by Janette Oke’s book of the same name from her Canadian West series. The series began airing on the Hallmark Channel in the United States on January 11, 2014, and on April 16, 2014 on Super Channel in Canada.

The series stars Erin Krakow, Daniel Lissing, Lori Loughlin, and Jack Wagner. When Calls the Heart is set in the early 1900s in the small town of Coal Valley, Alberta, (formerly known as Coal Valley Mining Town) following the devastating mining explosion that killed the town’s fathers. Elizabeth Thatcher, a young teacher from a wealthy Eastern family, arrives to start her first teaching job in Coal Valley.

The series was renewed for a second season on February 5, 2015. On March 26, 2015, it was announced that the second season would consist of ten episodes, instead of the originally planned six episodes. The second season premiered on February 21, 2016. On April 25, 2016, Hallmark Channel announced that the series had been renewed for a third season of ten episodes, which premiered on February 21, 2017. On March 31, 2017, the series was renewed for a fourth season of ten episodes, which is set to air in 2018.

When Calls the Heart is a heartwarming, romantic story that captures the spirit of the early 1900s. The series follows the lives of the residents of Coal Valley, as they rebuild their lives and their town, after a devastating mining accident. The series is set against the backdrop of the beautiful Canadian Rockies, and the town of Coal Valley is a charming and quaint place, with a close-knit community.

The series is filled with romance, adventure, and drama, and the characters are all very likable and relatable. The series is appropriate for all ages, and is a great way to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. When Calls the Heart is a great series for those who enjoy a good, heartwarming story.

Other related questions:

How many books are in the When Calls the Heart series?

There are currently six books in the When Calls the Heart series.

Does When Calls the Heart series follow the books?

The When Calls the Heart series is based on the books by Janette Oke.

When did Janette Oke write When Calls the Heart?

Janette Oke wrote When Calls the Heart in 1983.

Who wrote the book When Calls the Heart?

The author of the book is Janette Oke.


  • Was this Helpful ?
  • YesNo

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *