How many hobbit books were written?


Sep 3, 2022

Reading Time: 3 min

There is no definitive answer to this question, as J.R.R. Tolkien was constantly revising and expanding the story of Middle-earth throughout his lifetime. However, the most commonly accepted answer is that there were six hobbit books written in total.

This includes The Hobbit, which was originally published in 1937, and the five volumes of The Lord of the Rings, which were published between 1954 and 1955. Tolkien also published a number of other works set in Middle-earth, such as The Silmarillion and The Children of Húrin, but these are not typically considered to be part of the hobbit canon.

It should also be noted that there have been numerous hobbit books published since Tolkien’s death in 1973, most notably The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, a prequel to The Lord of the Rings written by Tolkien’s son Christopher. However, these works are not considered to be part of the original canon.

Other related questions:

What are The Hobbit books in order?

1. The Hobbit
2. The Lord of the Rings
3. The Silmarillion

How many versions of The Hobbit are there?

There are currently three versions of The Hobbit in production:

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012)
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013)
The Hobbit: There and Back Again (2014)

How many LOTR and Hobbit books are there?

There are a total of five LOTR books and three Hobbit books.

How much is the 1937 Hobbit book worth?

The value of a 1937 Hobbit book depends on its condition, edition, and other factors. A well-kept first edition in excellent condition could be worth thousands of dollars.


  • Was this Helpful ?
  • YesNo

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *